Q: What kind of media institution might distribute your media product and why?

The Definition of a Film Distributor…

A film distributor or distribbery is an independent company, a subsidiary company or occasionally an individual, which acts as the final agent between a film production company or some intermediary agent, and a film exhibitor, to the end of securing placement of the producer’s film on the exhibitor’s screen.

 In the film business, the term “distribution” refers to the marketing and circulation of movies in theaters, and for home viewing (DVD, Video-On-Demand, Download, Television etc).

So What Distribution Company Might distribute my film??

After researching what distribution companies were chosen for my influenced films, I think that if I were to complete and ‘distribute’ my film I would use either one of these companies…

New Line Cinema..

File:New Line Cinema.svg

A little about the company….New Line Cinema, often simply known as New Line, was founded in 1967, and is one of the major American film studios. Though it initially began as an independent film studio, it became a subsidiary of Time Warner in 1996, and was merged with larger sister studio Warner Bro.s in 2008.

I think New Line Cinema may distrubute my film, based on the fact that it distributed my main influence ‘Se7en’. It has also distributed many well known and loved thrillers/horrors, such as:

‘Nightmare on Elm Street’- A well known horror film, which is likely to have influenced more modern horrors.

the ‘Final Destination’ series – A number of  thriller/horror films which we have looked at in class.

‘The Butterfly Effect 2’ – the sequel to the thriller I analysed earlier in the course.

‘The Number 23’ – A suspense thriller starring Jim Carrey.

So therefore, my film, which is a thriller linked with crime and mystery, may appeal to New Line Cinema due to the films they have previously helped distribute to the world.

The distribution company has also been known to distribute many ‘series’ of films, such as the ‘Lord of the Rings’ triology, this may be helpful to me because if they distributed my film and I wanted to make another it is likely that, if my film were succesful, they would comply to distributing my sequel.

Also, by reading New Line Cinema’s FAQ they seem very helpful towards new screen writers and film makers saying that: 

‘If you have a completed film or are already underway with production, we would be happy to receive an invitation to view your work. Please remember that we are unable to accept unsolicited screenplays or pitches, and that this e-mail address should be used only to invite us to view finished films or production in progress. Any unsolicited screenplays or pitches will be returned without being reviewed. You may email New Line to invite us to a screening of your film.’

This gives me the idea that they would be a good distributor for my film as they seem helpful and open to new ideas and inexperienced film makers like myself.

UK Film Council…

UKFC Logo

After looking at distribution companies that are a little more ‘closer to home’ (not over in the US) I thought that it may be a better idea to distribute my film (if it were completed) with a UK film distributor as there is not as much competition as there is in the US with films.

From work in other media classes I know that the UK Film Council will let films take a ‘British Cultral Test’ and if they qualify as ‘British’ films (which is to do with the plot, culture, themes and actaully workers of the film) they can qualify for funding – which would probably be needed to complete the rest of my film as I have a limited budget of my own.

It has been known to distribute well known British films – such as : ‘This is England’ and ‘Dead Man’s Shoes’ which although they only had limited success in the US, did well in Britain.

I think this would be helpful for my film as I am not sure it would attract US audiences and would probably be ‘pushed out’ by more popular films. So by being distributed by the UK Film Council I would get funds to make the rest of my film and would be able to get my film distributed to British Audiences if American did not like my film.

Due to the cast I would choose if I made the rest of my film (Paddy Considine and keely Hawes) I think the UK Film Council would be attracted to my film as it has a strategy to:

‘The UK Film Council is the Government-backed lead agency for film in the UK, ensuring that the economic, cultural and educational aspects of film are effectively represented at home and abroad.Our mission is to ensure that UK audiences can enjoy great films. We do this by:

  • Nurturing our film talent
  • Assisting our film industry
  • Celebrating and safeguarding our film culture’

And by having my two leading roles as English and being set in England I feel that the distrubutor would be more likely to take my film seriously than an American one.

~ by hannah on April 29, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
